Mercer County Farm Bureaus honored as Kentucky Farm Bureau's 2020 "Top County" - Kentucky Farm Bureau

Mercer County Farm Bureau honored as Kentucky Farm Bureau's 2020 "Top County"

Posted on Dec 3, 2020

Louisville, KY (December 3, 2020) – Recognized for outstanding programming and for having a positive impact on both the community and its membership, Mercer County Farm Bureau was honored as Kentucky Farm Bureau’s (KFB) “Top County” in 2020.

Mercer County received the award during the 101st KFB annual meeting. The “Top County” announcement headlined the recognition of the 2020 Growth Incentive and County Awards Program for Kentucky Farm Bureau. Mercer County, which has 3,345 members and a variety of successful service programs, was also honored as the most outstanding in the membership category for counties with 2,601 to 4,200 members. Lyon County (1,256 members) received recognition among the counties with 2,600 or fewer members, and Madison County (7,561 members) won top honors among counties with more than 4,200 members.

In other award presentations:

  • Top County Farm Bureaus were designated in all eleven of Kentucky Farm Bureau districts. The recipients were: Campbell, Christian, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Lyon, Madison, Mercer, Monroe, Pulaski, and Wolfe.
  • Metcalfe, Henry and Barren Counties received Top Growth Awards for having the largest percentage of membership gain from 2019.
  • Pacesetter Awards were given to counties in the three membership size classifications that were the first to achieve a membership gain during the year. The large county award went to Henderson County, followed in size by Henry and Metcalfe Counties.
  • 11 counties won honors for having the highest member retention totals in their districts. Those winners were: Boyle, Campbell, Carlisle, Floyd, Leslie, Lewis, Meade, Monroe, Pulaski, Union, and Woodford,
  • Wayne County was honored for having 57 consecutive years of membership growth. 
  • Lyon County was recognized as the Most Improved County Farm Bureau.
  • Three awards were given for most effective county Farm Bureau information programs. Daviess County won first place, Fayette County was second and Bourbon County was third.
  • 103 Counties qualified as Growth Incentive Winners this year for policy growth and profitability produced by their local Farm Bureau agencies. Bell, Cumberland, Grant, Magoffin, and McClean counties came closest to the growth goal set for that county.