Lilakay Salmons and Jason Blake Warrens named state winners of Jim Claypool Art and Conservation Writing Contests - Kentucky Farm Bureau

Lilakay Salmons and Jason Blake Warrens named state winners of Jim Claypool Art and Conservation Writing Contests

Posted on Feb 19, 2015
Louisville, KY (February 19, 2015) – Amidst great competition from students all across Kentucky, the colorful artwork of Lilakay Salmons and the creative writing of Jason Blake Warrens emerged as winners of the 2014 Jim Claypool Art and Conservation Writing Contests. The competition, produced in partnership between Kentucky Farm Bureau (KFB) and the Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts (KACD), was themed around soil conservation and received more than 64,000 total entries.

Salmons, a 10-year-old student at Central Elementary School in Johnson County, was named the state winner of the Jim Claypool Conservation Art Contest. Her poster design stood out among its more than 47,000 competitors in grades 1-5 and ultimately won a $250 check from KFB, the contest’s sponsor.

Second place in the art contest and its $150 prize went to Julie Park, an 11-year-old student from Taylor County Elementary School. A $50 check was presented to Anna Kate Alexander, an 8-year-old of Red Cross Elementary School in Barren County, for her third place finish.

The art contest’s area winners were: Silas Feeback, Bourbon County; Kailey Payne, Breckinridge County; Ronnie Cockrell, Butler County; Kelly James, Caldwell County; Skylar Noyes, Henry County; Nikki Seals, Jackson County; Victoria Penix, Lawrence County; Tori Pennington, Letcher County; and Bryleigh Clutts, Nelson County. Each area winner of the art contest received a $50 check from KFB.

Warren, a 14-year-old student at Allen Central High School in Floyd County, was selected as the state winner of the Conservation Writing Contest, besting more than 17,000 other entries from students across the state in grades 6-12. His first place victory was awarded with a $250 check from KFB.

The writing contest’s second place award and its $150 prize went to 12-year-old Benjamin Kinsey of Williamstown Junior High School in Grant County. The third place award was presented with its accompanying $50 check to 13-year-old David Vincent of Bluegrass Christian Academy in Nelson County for his third place finish.

Area winners in the writing contest were: Zack East, Caldwell County; Aidan Kane, Campbell County; Jay Phillips, Harlan County; Abigail Marie Jones, Knox County; Luke Morrison, Oldham County; Mikaela Minor, Rowan County; Hannah Rebecca Tirlea, Scott County; Clay Henderson, Todd County; and Morgan Askins, Warren County. Each area winner of the art contest received a $50 check from KFB.

Judges from the local conservation districts chose county winners, whose entries then moved on to the state-level competition. A distinguished panel of judges with diverse environmental backgrounds selected statewide winners in both writing and art categories in mid-January. State, area and county winners each received a check from KFB.

The annual Conservation Writing and Jim Claypool Art Contests are produced through the cooperative efforts of the Kentucky Division of Conservation, Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation, Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts, Division of Water, Energy and Environment Cabinet, Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, Department of Education, and United States Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Tagged Post Topics Include: Allen Central High School, Anna Kate Alexander, Barren County, Benjamin Kinsey, Bluegrass Christian Academy, Central Elementary School, David Vincent, Floyd County, Grant County, Jason Blake Warrens, Johnson County, Julie Park, Lilakay Salmons, Nelson County, Red Cross Elementary School, Taylor County Elementary School, Williamstown Junior High School


Post a Comment

Required Field