Eighty-eight high school students to attend KFB's Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders - Kentucky Farm Bureau

Eighty-eight high school students to attend KFB's Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders

Posted on Jun 12, 2017

Louisville, KY (June 12, 2017) – Summer vacation may be only beginning for most students, but for 88 high school juniors the emphasis on education continues. These students, from 60 counties across the state, have accepted invitations to attend Kentucky Farm Bureau’s (KFB) 32nd annual Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders (IFAL), held in two locations this month.

High school juniors attend IFAL to learn more about agriculture, build skills, and visit agriculture-related industries.

IFAL is a unique five-day summer leadership conference that highlights a variety of careers in agriculture while exposing high school students to a preview of college life. Participants were nominated by their county Farm Bureau board of directors with the assistance of school personnel and youth group advisors. IFAL students are among the top in their class, plan to further their education at the post-secondary level, and have an interest in pursuing a career in agriculture.

During the week-long IFAL conference, attendees will gain a better understanding of the nature and needs of the agriculture industry, see how basic and applied science is utilized in agriculture and learn of the political process used to develop agricultural policy. Participants will engage in team-building and recreational activities, attend classes, hear from speakers focusing on the values of leadership, social, communication and motivational skills, and visit research farms and other agriculture-related industries. The entire experience is wrapped in a college atmosphere as the students live in dormitories, eat in university dining facilities and become acquainted with life on a college campus.

To provide conference participants with a small-group atmosphere and greater ability to learn and engage in the activities planned, IFAL is split into two identical sessions. The first is held on the campus of Murray State University, June 11-15, and the other is hosted at the University of Kentucky, June 18-22.

“We co-host the Institute for Future Agriculture Leaders as a way to promote ag-related careers and leadership skills to Kentucky’s high school students,” said Jackson Tolle, KFB’s Director of Young Farmer Programs. “Through our program, participants are exposed to local agriculture businesses and engaged in farm-focused educational activities while receiving a unique preview of life on a college campus.”


The 44 participants attending IFAL at Murray State University include: Alyssa Welch, Allen County; Madison Cherry, Anderson County; Ree Fields and Hayden Roberts, Ballard County; Jenny Crump, Bourbon County; Jessica Camp, Butler County; Carlie Peek, Caldwell County; Amberly Geurin, Tanner Hicks, and Lexie Lamb, Calloway County; Courtney Sarah Francis, Clark County; Cristy Logan, Fleming County; Molly Mitchell, Franklin County; Caroline Morrison, Fulton County; Jake Hunter, Graves County; Sarah Hancock, Green County; Haley Fauste, Harrison County; Kyle Bratcher, Hopkins County; Shanetta Bevins and Leiah Deyo, Lawrence County; Ally McQueen, Lincoln County; Lauren Schmitt, Livingston County; Trent Wilson, Lyon County; Ty Allen and Carly Mays, Madison County; Cheyenne McKinney and Bailynn Peeler, McCracken County; Whitley Patterson, McLean County; Hailee Risen, Meade County; Chance Flach, Mercer County; Justin Arnett, Montgomery County; Lawson Embry and Katie Raymond, Ohio County; Jenna Gosney, Pendleton County; Emma Lee, Mallory McDonald, and Jacob Patterson, Pulaski County; Conner Travis, Spencer County; Nolan Barrow and Van Frogue, Todd County; Ella Aponte, Trimble County; Lexi Stewart, Warren County; Landen Carrico, Washington County.


The 44 participants attending IFAL at the University of Kentucky include: Adrianna Porciello, Boone County; Nelson Paul, Bourbon County; Kayla Rice, Boyd County; Laney Simpson, Boyle County; Lori Hall and Shayna White, Breathitt County; Hannah York, Caldwell County; Chloe Holloway, Christian County; Rachel Barnett, Cumberland County; Savanna Stephen, Fayette County; Katie Jett, Fleming County; Gracie Staude, Haley Varney, and Shana Weber, Franklin County; KoryBeth Whitehead, Grant County; Clarissa Mackey, Hardin County; Breana Madison, Harlan County; Annie Furnish, Whitley Lemons, and Shelby Mullen, Harrison County; Sophia Samora, Jefferson County; Whitley Sayler, Johnson County; Jessica Easybuck and Jeremy Miller, Kenton County; Cole Holt, LaRue County; Kennedy Campbell, Maggie Hayes, and Jessalyn Robey, Logan County; Katie Collett, Magoffin County; Nick Sandusky, Marion County; Kelby Howard, McLean County; Brilee Tucker, Metcalfe County; Maylea Haney, Morgan County; Logan Bechanan, Nicholas County; Wade Cammack, Owen County; Max Elam, Rowan County; Greg Magsam, Scott County; Lauren Long and Luke McKinney, Shelby County; Molly Sullivan and Megan Underwood, Taylor County; Grace Sink, Trigg County; Chassity Warner, Washington County; Emma Cress, Woodford County.

For more information about the IFAL program, visit kyfb.com/federation.


Post a Comment

Required Field