Aaron and Melissa Miller win Excellence in Agriculture award - Kentucky Farm Bureau

Aaron and Melissa Miller win Excellence in Agriculture award

Posted on Dec 5, 2014

Louisville, KY (December 5, 2014) – Aaron and Melissa Miller from Hardin County, won top honors in Kentucky Farm Bureau’s (KFB) Excellence in Agriculture Awards program during the organization’s 95th annual meeting in Louisville this week.


Aaron and Melissa Miller (center right) received the 2014 Excellence in Agriculture Award at Kentucky Farm Bureau’s 95th annual meeting, held in Louisville. The award was presented by Mark Haney, KFB President (left), Dick Poe, Senior Vice-President of Financial Services of Farm Credit Services Mid-America (center left), and David S. Beck, KFB Executive Vice President (right).

The Excellence in Agriculture competition awards first, second and third place distinctions each year to individuals or couples under the age of 35 who contribute to and exhibit leadership growth from consistent involvement in Farm Bureau and other agriculture- and civic-oriented organizations. Candidates for this contest, although furthering the message and vitality of agriculture in the state, must not have the majority of their income subject to normal production risks associated with farming.

For the win, the Millers will represent Kentucky in national competition at the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) annual convention, held in San Diego, CA, January 11-14, 2015. The Millers were presented with a John Deere Gator, courtesy of Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, and an expenses-paid trip to the AFBF annual meeting.

Aaron is currently a regional vice-president for Farm Credit Mid-America and a board member of the Kentucky Agriculture Council. Melissa works part-time for Forman Watson Land Title, LLC, and is a graduating member of the 2013-14 KFB Leadership Enhancement for Agricultural Development (LEAD) class. The Millers also have a beef cattle operation on two farms in Hardin County. They live in Elizabethtown and have three children.

Second place in the contest went to Clinton Hardy of Daviess County. He was awarded $400 courtesy of KFB. Emily Drury Milam, of Anderson County, placed third and received $300 from KFB.

When the Millers compete for top national honors next month in San Diego, they will be vying for their choice of either a 2015 Chevrolet Silverado or 2015 GMC Sierra, courtesy of General Motors, and a paid registration to the 2015 AFBF Young Farmer & Rancher Leadership Conference in Nashville, TN, February 13-16, 2015. Three national runners-up will receive a Case IH Farmall 45A, courtesy of Case IH, a $2,500 cash prize and $500 in STIHL merchandise, courtesy of STIHL.



Tagged Post Topics Include: AFBF, Bill Johnson, California, Case IH Farmall 45A, Chevrolet Silverado, David S Beck, Excellence in Agriculture Awards, Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, General Motors, GMC Sierra, John Deere Gator, Kentucky Farm Bureau, Mark Haney, San DIego, Stihl


Post a Comment

Required Field