Logan County Farm Bureau Holds 2021 Annual Meeting - Kentucky Farm Bureau

Logan County Farm Bureau Holds 2021 Annual Meeting

From left: Daniel Johnson, John Alcott, Grant Hildabrand, Catherine Poole, Thomas Poole, Patsy Poore, Russell Poore, Doug Milliken, Karen Milliken, Jerry Hughes, Carrell Hughes, Jennifer Ferris, Dwight Grise, Tabitha Robertson, Ray Hughes, Lilly Hunter, Gary Hendricks, Jeremy Robertson, Colton Hunter, Wesley Estes, Gracie Spears and Jay Campbell

Logan County Farm Bureau held its 2021 Annual Meeting Saturday, September 11, at the Logan County Extension Complex. The Logan County FFA Chapter prepared a box lunch for 157. Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the meal was served via drive-thru. Door prizes and goody bags were distributed to attendees. William David Johnson was the gift basket winner of the random ticket drawing.

President Doug Milliken presided over the business meeting. The following resolutions were approved for submission to Kentucky Farm Bureau:

  1. "We recommend that KY Farm Bureau develop a policy to deal with the construction and expansion of Solar Electricity Facilities on KY farmland. Please consider the protection of Farm owners in long term lease agreements and purchases of Agriculture land. We recommend that all such land is not just covered with gravel or stone beneath the solar panels. We also recommend that at the expiration of all leases or the discontinued use of all purchased Agricultural land for solar power production, that the land be returned to Agricultural Production by the Owner of the Solar panels."

This issue affects 1,600 acres of Logan County farm land at this time.

  1. "We recognize that care for water and the environment is vital to the sustainability and productivity of all the aspects of agricultural production of food and fiber. However, we oppose the return to the original versions of the Waters of The United States ACT which gives the EPA and Federal Government what we consider excessive control over private property and governmental over-reach into the management of agricultural property. We believe the landowner should retain the primary control over production, use and maintenance decisions of all streams and water sources on their property that are not true navigable water sources. The definition of “navigable water” should not include water that is not actually navigable, such as small streams, springs, ponds, wells, drainage ditches, grass waterways, seasonal wet areas or areas subject to occasional flooding. Also once established, the definition of navigable water should remain consistent from administration to administration and not be subject to change or redefining by new regulations.
  1.  We are opposed to the teaching of Critical Race Theory in our Kentucky and National school systems.
Farm Bureau Board Members serving the  “Drive by Event.”

Jay Campbell presented the nominating committee report.  The following Officers were elected for 2022: President, Doug Milliken; 1st Vice President, Grant Hildabrand; 2nd Vice President, Thomas Poole; Treasurer, Jeremy Robertson; Women’s Chairman, Catherine Poole; Women’s Co-Chairman, Karen Milliken; Young Farmer’s Chairman, Wesley Estes.

Directors elected for a two year term were: Bobby Dawson, Richard Moore, Gary Jenkins, Jennifer Ferris, Daniel Johnson, Grant Hildabrand, Dwight Grise, Russell Poore, Doug Milliken, Karen Milliken Wesley Estes, Morgan Estes, Gary Hendricks, Colton Hunter, Lilly Hunter and Catherine Poole.

Directors with one year left to serve are: John Alcott, Ray Hughes, Jerry Hughes, Carrell Hughes, Albert Brown, Patsy Poore, Thomas Poole, Jeremy Robertson, Tabitha Robertson, Jay Campbell, Brandon Robey and Paul Gripshover.  Gracie Spears will serve a one year term while president of Logan County FFA.

The following individuals will be presented their respective awards on a later date: LeeAnn Martin, Distinguished Service to AG; Frances Brown, Distinguished Service to Logan County Farm Bureau; Josh & Ashley Crocker, 2021 Logan County Farm Bureau Young Farm Family and Triple H Farms, (Ray, Charlie and Danny Hughes) Logan County Farm of the Year.

Logan County Farm Bureau appreciates the assistance of the Logan County FFA chapter members for cooking, and help with this event.

The KFB Annual meeting will be held at the Galt House in Louisville, December 1-4, 2021.

KFB Spotlight

Zach Heibert of Hardin County Named 2022 Kentucky Farm Bureau Excellence in Agriculture Award Recipient
September 29, 2022
Zach Heibert of Hardin County Named 2022  Kentucky Farm Bureau Excellence in Agriculture Award Recipient

Kentucky Farm Bureau (KFB) announced today that Zach Heibert of Hardin County is the 2022 KFB Excellence in Agriculture award recipient.

KFB's 58th Annual Country Ham Auction Raises $5 Million for Charity
August 25, 2022
KFB's 58th Annual Country Ham Auction Raises $5 Million for Charity

The 58th Kentucky Farm Bureau (KFB) Country Ham Breakfast brought in an impressive $5 million for charity organizations. 

Presidents Column | Coming Together To Help
August 12, 2022
Presidents Column | Coming Together To Help

Anyone who has ever planted that first seed of a crop knows, as dedicated farm families, we are always at the mercy of Mother Nature.