Increase Text Size Decrease Text Size Printer Friendly

News - 92 high school students to attend IFAL

  • June 12, 2014

Summer vacation may be only beginning for most students, but for 92 high school juniors the emphasis on education continues. These students, from 60 counties across the state, have accepted invitations to attend Kentucky Farm Bureau’s (KFB) 29th annual Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders (IFAL), held in two locations this month.

IFAL is a unique five-day summer leadership conference that highlights a variety of careers in agriculture while exposing high school students to a preview of college life. Participants were nominated by their county Farm Bureau board of directors with the assistance of school personnel and youth group advisors. IFAL students are among the top in their class, plan to further their education at the post-secondary level and have an interest in pursing a career in agriculture.

During the week-long IFAL conference, attendees will gain a better understanding of the nature and needs of the agriculture industry, see how basic and applied science is utilized in agriculture and learn of the political process used to develop agricultural policy. Participants will engage in team-building and recreational activities, attend classes, hear from speakers focusing on the values of leadership, social, communication and motivational skills, and visit research farms and other agriculture-related industries. The entire experience is wrapped in a college atmosphere as the students live in dormitories, eat in university dining facilities and become acquainted with life on a college campus in general.

To provide conference participants with a small-group atmosphere and greater ability to learn and engage in the activities planned, IFAL is split into two identical sessions. The first is held on the campus of Murray State University, June 15-19, and the other is hosted at the University of Kentucky, June 22-26.

“We co-host the Institute for Future Agriculture Leaders as a way to promote ag-related careers and leadership skills to Kentucky’s high school students,” said KFB Interim Young Farmer Director, Scott Christmas. “Through our program, participants are exposed to local agriculture businesses and engaged in farm-focused educational activities while receiving a unique preview of life on a college campus.”

The 46 participants attending IFAL at Murray State University include: Sarah Bault, Adair County; Caity Meinschein, Ballard County; Sara Butler and Molly Williams, Barren County; Evan Claxon, Boone County; Courtney Franklin, Bourbon County; Presley Adkins, Boyd County; Kaitlyn Elliott and Julia Little, Boyle County; Madison Shrewsberry, Breckinridge County; Lilly Moore, Keesha Pedigo and Sierra Powell, Butler County; Amanda Hancock, Caldwell County; Audree Harper, Calloway County; Melissa Pryor, Christian County; Bailey Bishop, Franklin County; Annagrace Ligons, Fulton County; Cooper Myatt, Graves County; Haley Hayes, Grayson County; Rebecca Mackey, Hardin County; Zack Nichols, Hart County; Justin Yount, Henry County; Haley Brown, Knox County; Danny Tapia, Lincoln County; Wes Hadden, Logan County; Austin Smith and K.K. Travis, Lyon County; Bailee Rowlette, Madison County; Brittany Jones, Marion County; Maryanna Frazier, Marshall County; Graydon Turley, McLean County; Aileé Lawson and Taylor McGuire, Menifee County; Taylor Gray and Ashlin Kendrick, Mercer County; Gideon Bailey and Emilee Cannon, Montgomery County; Joe Reed, Muhlenberg County; Payton Carter and Dean Hendricks, Nelson County; Taylor Nash, Shelby County; Autumn Harris, Todd County; Kayla Tyler, Trigg County; Michaela Hathaway, Warren County; Braelyn Heightchew, Woodford County.

The 46 participants attending IFAL at the University of Kentucky include: Tori Crouch, Bath County; Spencer Paul and Alli Sandefur, Bourbon County; Tiffany Tate, Breckinridge County; Alicia Wilkerson, Bullitt County; Becca Markham and Hannah McIntosh, Caldwell County; Luke Trapp, Campbell County; Johnna Scott, Clark County; George Bittel and Amanda Gilles, Daviess County; Aaron Clark and David Maples III, Fayette County; Jessica Conn and John Johnson, Fleming County; Grace Higgs, Franklin County; Samantha Potter, Greenup County; Eliza Green, Hardin County; Kaily Scott, Hart County; Danielle Kinder, Jefferson County; Richie Powers, Jessamine County; Chase Hubbard, Knox County; Turner Cottrell, LaRue County; Trevor Herald, Lee County; Wesley Estes, Logan County; Blane Whittemore, Madison County; Joseph Peterson, Marion County; Tori Carter and Taylor Worthington, Mercer County; Stephen Lacy, Morgan County; Rachel Young, Nelson County; Missy Combs, Pendleton County; Lucas Roy and Julia Wilson, Pulaski County; Clay Cox, Robertson County; Mahaley Slone, Scott County; Sabrina Shaver and Hunter Stephens, Shelby County; Meaghan DeVito, Spencer County; Caitlin Oakes, Todd County; Courtney Matthews, Trimble County; Madi Wright, Union County; Kassy Buchanan, Webster County; Hanna Logan, Whitley County; Logan Mitchell and Emily Varner, Woodford County.

RSS Feed
Insurance Services
Request A Quote
  • Request A Quote
Insurance Products