Increase Text Size Decrease Text Size Printer Friendly

News - Elections Held During Kentucky Farm Bureau’s 90th Annual Meeting

  • December 07, 2009

Pulaski County farmer Mark Haney was re-elected president of Kentucky Farm Bureau on the concluding day of the organization’s 90th annual meeting. Clark County’s John C. Hendricks and Webster County’s Eddie Melton were re-elected as First and Second Vice-President, respectively. They comprise KFB’s Executive Committee along with Executive Vice President David S. Beck.

Haney has served on the Executive Committee for 11 years and has been a state director since 1993. For years he chaired the State Resolutions Committee. He is a past president of the Kentucky Center for Cooperative Development and the Kentucky Horticultural Society.

A former President of the Pulaski County Farm Bureau, Haney and his brother Don, produce apples and peaches near Nancy, where they also raise beef cattle. They sell fresh produce from their orchards – as well as cider, jellies and other products – at a KFB Certified Roadside Market located on the farm. He and his wife, Marlene, have two sons and a daughter.

Hendricks, a KFB director since 1998, is a past president of Clark County Farm Bureau. He is chairman of Resolutions Committee and the Health Care Issues Task Force. He formerly chaired the Beef Cattle Advisory Committee and the Large Animal Veterinarian Task Force. On the national level, Hendricks has been appointed as a member of the American Farm Bureau Federation Federal Deficit Task Force to help look for ways to bring the budget back into balance. He produces beef cattle, hay and vegetables on his family farm near Winchester. He and his wife, Mary Beth, have two sons.

Melton is chairman of KFB’s Political Education Advisory Committee and is a former President of Webster County FB. He also was chairman of KFB’s Farm Bill Task Force, which conducted statewide forums and sought input from Kentucky farmers on provisions of the 2008 farm bill. Melton also serves in leadership positions with the Corn Growers Promotion Board and Southern States Cooperative. He and his wife, Regina, have a daughter.

One new member was elected to the board as a result of a District 5 membership gain which qualified it for another representative. Joe Paul Mattingly of Marion County was elected to that slot. Joining him as a new member of the board are Marshall County Farm Bureau Insurance Agency Manager Mickey Sirls, State FFA Advisor Curt Lucas and Chris Ragan of Warren County, who was elected chairman of the Young Farmer Advisory Committee. Sirls replaces Hardin County Agency Manager Terry Patterson and Lucas replaces Deborah Anderson.

Other board members are: Randall Heath of Graves County, Tripp Furches of Calloway County, Kelly Thurman of McLean County, Steve Bolinger of Christian County; J. Fritz Giesecke of Hart County, Larry Thomas of Hardin County, Patrick M. Henderson of Breckinridge County, Russell Poore of Logan County, Jay Coleman of Barren County, Scott Travis of Spencer County, Randy Chrisman of Anderson County, David Chappell of Owen County, Terry Rowlett of Henry County, Danny Wilkinson of Adair County, Kim McCoy of Cumberland County, Terry R. Gilbert of Boyle County, David L. Campbell of Lincoln County, Alex Barnett of Harrison County, David McGlone of Carter County, Carroll Amyx of Wolfe County, Charlie Benge of Laurel County, Bige Hensley of Clay County, Marshall Coyle of Bath County, Frieda Heath of Graves County, Kevin Lyons of Monroe County and Dr. Scott Smith of Fayette County, who is Dean of the UK College of Agriculture.

For more information on the 90th Annual Kentucky Farm Bureau Annual Meeting, click here

RSS Feed
Insurance Services
Request A Quote
  • Request A Quote
Insurance Products