Increase Text Size Decrease Text Size Printer Friendly

Community Focus - 2012 Annual Meeting

County News

  • September 25, 2012

The Monroe County Farm Bureau annual membership meeting was held on Saturday, September 22,at the Monroe County High School.

During the evening, several activities and contest were held including the Variety Contest.

Winner in the Variety Contest were Neely and Kylee Brown daughters of Lyndsey Brown, won first place and Riley Brown was runner up.The first place winner will represent Monroe County in the district competition to be held on Saturday, Nov. 3, at Lera B. Mitchell Club House in Glasgow.

Bart Rowland, incumbent and Thomas Dodson, candidates for State Representative, were both present at the meeting and spoke before the group.

Newly elected officers include President Johnny Eubank, First Vice Terry Bryant, Second Vice Scott Davis, Secretary Karen Bartley, Treasurer Lawrence Scott, Young Farmer Chairman Hade Lyons, Women's Chair Linda Gillenwater. Directors are Roger Gillenwater, Charles and Debbie Burnett, Thomas Copass, Vickie Bryant, Sandy Simpson, Kerry Lyons, Jerry Rich, Billie Frank and Colleen Williams, Kerry Stinson, Craig Grider and Nick Burnett.

The group attending the annual meeting also adopted several policy resolutions as recommended by the County Resolution Committee to be presented at the state Farm Bureau meeting. That meeting will be held Wednesday, Dec. 5, through Saturday, Dec. 8 in Louisville.

The resolutions included: We strongly recommend keeping the exemption of sales tax on farm purchases, We strongly recommend keeping HB 44 in place, We support mandatory animal ID, We oppose EPA regulation applicable to on farm petroleum storage, We recommend that due to the lack of ability to make membership across the state, allowances be made in the county awards program.

 CA - Farm Bureau -1 (Custom)  CA - Farm Bureau - 2 (Custom)



RSS Feed

« Back to the Monroe page
Federation Services
Related Links
  • Roadside Farm Market
  • Country Store
  • Counties
  • Agriculture Links


Member Benefits