

January 9, 2017

Legislative Report No. 2 2017 Kentucky General Assembly

The 2017 Session of the Kentucky General Assembly adjourned on Saturday, January 7 until Tuesday, February 7. The General Assembly officially elected their leadership, made committee assignments and passed seven pieces of legislation during the first week. Since the General Assembly met this past Saturday, they will not meet on March 9. For an updated regular session calendar click here.

In the House of Representatives the leadership team for the Republicans is:

Jeff Hoover, from Russell County, Speaker
David Osborne, from Oldham County, Speaker Pro Tempore
Jonathan Shell, from Garrard County, Majority Floor Leader
David Meade, from Lincoln County, Majority Caucus Chair
Kevin Bratcher, from Jefferson County, Majority Whip

For the Democrats their leadership team consists of:

Rocky Atkins, from Elliott County, Democratic Floor Leader Dennis Keene, from Campbell County, Democratic Caucus Chair Wilson Stone, from Allen County, Democratic Whip

In the Senate the leadership team for the Republicans is:

Robert Stivers, from Clay County, President
David Givens, from Green County, President Pro Tempore
Damon Thayer from Scott County, Majority Floor Leader
Dan Seum, from Jefferson County, Majority Caucus Chair
Jimmy Higdon, from Marion County, Majority Whip

For the Democrats their leadership team consists of:

Ray Jones II, from Pike County, Democratic Floor Leader Dorsey Ridley, from Henderson County, Democratic Caucus Chair Julian Carroll, from Franklin County, Democratic Whip

For a complete list of committee assignments click here.

Below is a list of the bills passed last week. Each bill contained an emergency clause meaning they will become law when Governor Bevin signs them.

HB 1: J. Hoover, J. DeCesare, R. Benvenuti III, K. Bratcher, J. Carney, J. DuPlessis, R. Heath, T. Herald, D. Johnson, K. King, A. Koenig, S. Lee, D. Meade, J. Miller, K. Moser, D. Osborne, P. Pratt, B. Rowland, S. Santoro, J. Shell, D. St. Onge, W. Thomas, W. Wells, A. Wuchner - AN ACT relating to right-to-work provisions involving a condition of employment or continuation of employment and declaring an emergency.

This bill will amend KRS 336.130 to indicate that public employees may not strike and prohibit mandatory membership in or financial support of a labor organization as a condition of employment; EMERGENCY.

HB 2: J. Hoover, A. Wuchner, L. Bechler, D. Bentley, R. Benvenuti III, J. Blanton, K. Bratcher, J. Carney, M. Castlen, J. DuPlessis, M. Hart, R. Heath, T. Herald, K. Imes, D. Johnson, DJ Johnson, K. King, A. Koenig, S. Lee, D. Meade, R. Mills, K. Moser, D. Osborne, M. Prunty, B. Reed, S. Santoro, J. Shell, D. St. Onge, W. Thomas, J. Tipton, T. Turner, K. Upchurch - AN ACT relating to full disclosure in public safety and declaring an emergency. This bill will create the Ultrasound Informed Consent Act to require an ultrasound prior to an abortion; EMERGENCY.

HB 3: J. Hoover, A. Koenig, R. Benvenuti III, K. Bratcher, J. Carney, J. DeCesare, R. Heath, T. Herald, D. Johnson, K. King, S. Lee, D. Meade, J. Miller, K. Moser, D. Osborne, P. Pratt, S. Santoro, J. Shell, D. St. Onge, W. Thomas, A. Wuchner - AN ACT relating to prevailing wage and declaring an emergency.

This bill will delete prevailing wage provisions and abolish the Prevailing Wage Review Board. It will also prohibit local governments from requiring employers to pay prevailing wage to employees; EMERGENCY.

SB 3: C. McDaniel, J. Adams, R. Alvarado, J. Bowen, D. Carroll, C. Embry Jr., R. Girdler, J. Schickel, W. Schroder, D. Seum, D. Thayer, M. Wise - AN ACT relating to the disclosure of public retirement information and declaring an emergency.

This bill will require the disclosure, upon request, of the retirement benefit information of current and former members of the General Assembly, including the member's name, status, and projected or actual retirement benefit payments and benefits from the Kentucky Retirement Systems, the Kentucky Teachers' Retirement System, the Legislators' Retirement Plan, and the Judicial Retirement Plan; EMERGENCY.

SB 5: B. Smith, W. Westerfield, R. Alvarado, J. Bowen, D. Carroll, C. Embry Jr., R. Girdler, S. Meredith, D. Parrett, A. Robinson, J. Schickel, D. Seum, D. Thayer, M. Wilson, M. Wise - AN ACT relating to abortion and declaring an emergency.

This bill will prohibit an abortion when the probable post-fertilization age of the unborn child is 20 weeks or greater and will create an affirmative defense if the probable post-fertilization age was less than 20 weeks or if a medical emergency; EMERGENCY.

SB 6: R. Stivers II, R. Alvarado, D. Seum, D. Thayer, M. Wise - AN ACT relating to labor organizations and declaring an emergency.

This bill will set forth requirements for labor organizations collecting moneys for dues and for political activities, for enrollment for members, and for maintaining financial records. It will prevent employees from being enrolled in labor organization or having money withheld from their earnings for union dues unless they give permission in writing; EMERGENCY.

SB 12: R. Stivers II - AN ACT relating to public postsecondary education governance and declaring an emergency.

This bill will reduce the number of members on the University of Louisville board of trustees from 17 to ten, set qualifications and conditions for membership and require Senate confirmation of appointments. It will also set initial terms for members and specify how to determine proportional minority representation on the board; EMERGENCY.

HOW TO CONTACT YOUR LEGISLATORS

During the week, you may reach your representative and senator in Frankfort by calling 502.564.8100. If you do not desire to talk to your state legislator immediately or you just want to leave a message, you may dial toll-free 800.372.7181. An answering service will take your message for your representative or senator. The legislative calendar information line is 800.633.9650, the bill status line is 866.840.2835, and the Governor's office number is 502.564.2611.

If you desire to e-mail your representative or senator, <u>click here</u> for a list of e-mail addresses for members of the Kentucky General Assembly. Find your legislator and click on his or her name to access their e-mail address.

YOUR LOBBYISTS

Those who are registered to lobby for Kentucky Farm Bureau for the 2017 session are: Jeff Harper, Public Affairs Director, extension 5104; Bryan Alvey, extension 7218; Tony Sholar, extension 5121; and David S. Beck, extension 5101. If you would like to call your lobbyists during the evening, call 502.352.4280 at the Frankfort headquarters or call 502.495.5000 and key in their extensions.

If you would like to contact one of your lobbyists during the day, please call Sara Stivers at 502.495.5121 and she will put you in touch with one of them.

KEEP ALL LEGISLATIVE ACTION REQUESTS FOR FUTURE USE

We suggest that you keep a record of the Legislative Action Requests on file because, on occasion, we may refer to a previous report as a source of more details regarding an issue.