Excellence in Agricultural Literacy

Sarah Howard, a teacher at Newton Parrish Elementary School in Daviess County
Sarah Howard, a teacher at Newton Parrish Elementary School in Daviess County, (right) accepts Kentucky Farm Bureau's (KFB's) 2018 Excellence in Ag Literacy Award from Vickie Bryant, Chair of the Kentucky Farm Bureau State Women's committee (left).  The award was presented at KFB's 99th annual meeting, held at the Galt House Hotel in Louisville.


The Kentucky Farm Bureau’s “Excellence in Ag Literacy Award” is designed to recognize and reward teachers who excel in their efforts to incorporate agricultural concepts throughout their core academic studies. All certified pre-kindergarten through 12th grade teachers who are engaged in integrating agricultural concepts into non-agricultural curriculum are eligible.

The winning teacher will be recognized Thursday, December 5, 2019 during Kentucky Farm Bureau’s State Annual Meeting, at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville. Additionally, the state winners will receive $500 and an all-expense paid trip to the National Ag in the Classroom Conference in June 2020 where they will represent Kentucky in the national competition. 

Self-nominations, as well as nominations from school faculty, community leaders, or parents are encouraged. Download the application here. Submissions must be received at the state office by Friday, October 18, 2019. This is a firm deadline, there are no exceptions.

We encourage you to nominate teachers in your local area who you feel are deserving of this honor. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at (502) 495-5000, extension 7221 or by email at Scott.Christmas@kyfb.com